Date of Award

Spring 5-9-2020

Document Type

Honors Thesis



First Advisor

Dr. Luis Viquez

Second Advisor

Dr. Deborah Reeves

Third Advisor

Dr. Scott Breuninger


Mozart, performance practice, clarinet pedagogy

Subject Categories

Music Education | Music Pedagogy | Music Performance


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (January 27, 1756 – December 5, 1791) composed his Clarinet Concerto, K.622 during his final years for his dear friend, Anton Stadler. Praised by many performers and scholars, the Clarinet Concerto, K.622 is recognized as one of the best of concertos from the Classical era. This thesis is divided into three sections. The first section covers the historical context of the concerto and its intended instrument, the basset clarinet. The second chapter examines sources, in the format of an annotated bibliography, to define aspects of a historically-informed performance from both a performance and pedagogical standpoint. The final chapter goes into depth about how to incorporate the information from the annotated bibliography and the historical context to perform or teach the second movement of the concerto (“Adagio”) with an authentic purpose.



To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.